Thrilled About God [part II]: Autumn Renewal

” 1  How lovely is your dwelling place,
O LORD of Heaven’s Armies.
 2  I long, yes, I faint with longing
to enter the courts of the LORD.
With my whole being, body and soul,
I will shout joyfully to the living God.
 3  Even the sparrow finds a home,
and the swallow builds her nest and raises her young
at a place near your altar,
O LORD of Heaven’s Armies, my King and my God!
 4  What joy for those who can live in your house,
always singing your praises.    Interlude

 5  What joy for those whose strength comes from the LORD,
who have set their minds on a pilgrimage to Jerusalem.
 6  When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, [6]
it will become a place of refreshing springs.
The autumn rains will clothe it with blessings.
 7  They will continue to grow stronger,
and each of them will appear before God in Jerusalem.”

-Psalms 84:1-7

12143297_1508594416127464_3202898965315848779_n

I wrote a couple weeks ago about being thrilled about God and I do not feel as I touched on that as much as I would have liked. This has been a thing on my mind for several weeks now and its something I feel I cannot shake.

Your relationship with God isn’t about simply getting to heaven. And I hear it all the time people talking about heaven and hell, which yes is a very serious thing, but I do not feel like it is the sole purpose of being a Christian. As a teenagers who attend to get their parents off their back or because it is something you “have” to do. I feel like very often this is what pushes so many youth away from the church. They see church as a chore and sometimes even a punishment! A relationship with God is not based on a set of rules or guidelines.

You can’t focus on rules,church, and religion. Our God is a pure, loving, compassionate, forgiving God; I think that is something to celebrate and adore! He has done absolutely everything for us.He is generous and kind.

As I have written about before I have been re-visiting all of my old prayer journals since the time I was saved in my freshmen year of high school to the present day! Today I found an entry from Oct. 13th, 2013 and it really seemed to correlate with everything on my mind lately so I decided to share it.

“God when we walk with you, I begin to get chills, I feel your presence and it thrills me to get a step closer to you and the goals you have set before me each and every day. I fall in love with you more and more each day; each time you help me out of an awful mood or help me appreciate how wonderful life is. I am stirred by how you continue to bless me even though I constantly feel as if I am failing you.”

I definitely can look bad and say that I meant every word. I am thankful for all God has done in my life and it encourages me to continue in his path and stay focused on Him always. I become more in love and more thrilled every morning that I wake up. My only objective is to show others that kind of relationship because it is incomparable.

xoxo,

Beki

One thought on “Thrilled About God [part II]: Autumn Renewal

Leave a Reply

