From Stressed to Self-caring

I remember a time in my life when my main concern was what my grades were and who my friends were. Now a days, I can only wish to stress about such mediocre things. I get stressed so easily and its something I have really began to work on.

I recently quit my second job to begin working full time at my local coffee shop, which I’ve been at for six months now. It is such an adjustment to have so much free time which sounds odd but I am used to always being busy with two jobs and school. Now that I work one job and am enjoying my semester off I am befundled as to how to spend my time.

image

I have signed up for a gym, which I actually really enjoy when I get myself out of bed to go! I have also began painting and writing a lot more (which if you’ve read my past posts, you’ll know that they are my main hobbies). I’ve also recently began to learn how to make my own soap which I would love to begin selling online along with my paintings.

With so many things to keep my mind occupied, I am interested to see how well I am alone. I’m the youngest of five; I moved out of my moms house right in with roommates, and I’m constantly with friends or at work surrounded with people. I don’t get a lot of time to myself and I think its something I have been longing for, but at the same time have been dreading.

I believe it is vital to having a healthy mindset and life style to take time to figure out who you are, what you like, and who you want to be. You have to spend time with yourself. Now don’t get me wrong, being with friends, family, and coworkers is very important as well. But sometimes I believe we forget to treat ourselves to some bonding time with ourselves.

I am one week into my journey of self care. I have began cooking for myself one or even two meals a day (breakfast and dinner). I’ve found that somehow despite my many efforts to avoid the kitchen as a child, my parents culinary school backgrounds have rubbed off on me. I am very proud of myself. I have also began waking up sooner and going to bed earlier, which is nice because I have much more energy throughout my whole day when I don’t sleep in til noon! Its nice to wake up, make myself a latte, go for a run, and come back to a homemade breakfast made by myself.

image

Basically what I’m saying here is that the past 6 days of self care and my many efforts of staying a well balanced human being, has made me feel less anxious, stressed, and even just happier in general. I wish more people would focus on themselves more!

People constantly tell us not to be selfish and though this is true, you have to be a little selfish. We each have dreams, goals, and ideas we should pursue and that means being a little selfish. If you want to get where you hope to be you need to just cut out the negativity from your life and do it! It doesn’t take a strong willed person and you don’t have to be super (wo)man to make your big goal happen. It takes time and baby goals, but each and every one of us can do it!


Beki

Leave a Reply

